The Group

Group Picture -August 2010 (missing: Albert, Meghan, Arthur, Lauren, Makoto and Patrick)

NEW - Group Photo Gallery (opens in new window)

Heinz-Bernhard Kraatz (PI)

Heinz-Bernhard Kraatz studied at the Heinrich-Heine Universität Düsseldorf and the University of Kent at Canterbury, he received his Ph.D. in 1993 from the University of Calgary and carried out postdoctoral work in organometallic chemistry at the University of Maryland, College Park, and the Weizmann Institute of Science. He worked as an assistant Research Officer at the Steacie Institute of Science, Ottawa. In 1998, he joined the Department of Chemistry at The University of Saskatchewan and was appointed full professor in 2007. He was awarded 2006 CSC Award for Pure or Applied Inorganic Chemistry, 2001 Petro-Canada Young Innovator Award and Canada Research Chair in Biomaterials. In 2007 he moved to The University of Western Ontario.

Group Members

Graduate Students

 
Samaneh Beheshti
sbehesh@uwo.ca
Fc-foldamers, Alzheimer Models
Farkhondeh Fathi
ffathi@uwo.ca
Chemical Weapon Sensor
Sowole Modupeola
msowole@uwo.ca
Protein Biosensor
Yunying Shen
yshen96@uwo.ca
Fc Peptide Conjugates
Craig Colquhoun
ccolquh2@uwo.ca
Active Site Modeling of Metaloprotein
Rouzbeh Afrasiabi
rafrasia@uwo.ca
Peptide Foldamer Design
Md. Nazmul Alam
malam47@uwo.ca
Cell Signalling
Mervt Almostafa
malmosta@uwo.ca
Kinase Biosensor
Mohtashim H. Shamsi
mshamsi@uwo.ca
DNA Biosensor
Albert Smith
asmith68@uwo.ca
Electrochemical Biosensor
Undergraduate Students  
Dan Freeman
dfreema7@uwo.ca
Kinease Project
Meghan Rains
mrains2@uwo.ca
Hydrophylic Ferrocene-ATP conjugates
Lauren Filice
lfilice3@uwo.ca
Ferrocene bioconjugates

Postdocs

 
Sanela Martic
Postdoctoral Fellow
smartic@uwo.ca
Kinase Project
Mahmoud Labib
Postdoctoral Fellow
mlabib3@uwo.ca
HIV and Kinase Biosensors
   

Alumni

Undergraduate Students:

Jared Pautler 2010 Undergraduate Student, UWO (jpautler@uwo.ca)
Meghan Schlitt 2010 Undergraduate Student, UWO (mschlitt@uwo.ca)
Matthew Lafreniere 2010 Undergraduate Student, UWO ( mlafren3@uwo.ca)
Chantal Druzina 2010 (cdruzina@uwo.ca)
Kevin Venus 2010 (kvenus@uwo.ca)
Andrew Priegert 2010 (aprieger@uwo.ca)
Sasha Campbell 2009 Summer Student
Kirsten Tomlin 2008 Undergraduate Student, UWO (ktomlin4@uwo.ca)
Erin Morgan (Honorus) 2008 B.Sc.
Demyan Prokopchuk 2007 Undergraduate Student, U of S
Marek Majewski Jr. 2006 Undergraduate Student - U of S (majewski.jr@usask.ca)
Ainge Y. C. Chang 2007 ICE Exchange STudent, UBC
Amy Walsh 2006 ICE exchange Student - U.B.C. (walsh.amelia@gmail.com)
Nancy Bawa 2005 U of S Student (nab052@mail.usask.ca)
Edyta Sieminska 2004 B. Sc. - M.Sc. at University of Alberta(edytas@ualberta.ca)
Cory Heinricks (Honours) 2003 B. Sc. - Pilot Plant, University of Saskatchewan
Jonathan Sherman (Honours) 2002 B. Sc.
Kevin Plumb 2001 B. Sc. - CREO
James Inkster (Honours) 1999 B. Sc.
Andreas Pletsch (exchange student) 9/1999 - 5/2000 - BASF Ludwigshafen (andreas.pletsch@basf.com)
Deirdre Gormley (summer student) 5/1999 - 8/1999 The Dial Corporation (Gormley.Deirdre@DIALCORP.com)

Graduate Students:

Anas Lataifeh 2011 PhD - Lecturer, Jordan

Makoto Ogawa 2010 PhD - Research Scientist. Japan (spuh7qq9@fork.ocn.ne.jp)
Guocheng Han 2010 Visting Student from Chine - PhD student (ghan6@uwo.ca)
Haifeng Song 2010 PhD - A&L Canada Laboratories Inc. in Yunnan, China ( hsong42@uwo.ca)
Lanya Cheng 2009 Visiting Student from China - PhD Student (clanya@uwo.ca)
Armando Marenco 2009 M.Sc. - Defense Research Scientist DRD Canada/PhD student UofC(armando.marenco@ucalgary.ca) - M.Sc. Thesis
Yizhi Xiao 2009 M.Sc. - Technical Stuff UWO Engineering (yxiao29@uwo.ca)
Mark Milne 2008 M.Sc. - PhD Student UWO ( mam171@mail.usask.ca)
Nina Hüsken 2008 Visiting Student, Ph.D. student at Ruhr-Universität Bochum (nina.huesken@rub.de)
Amir Kavianpour 2007 M.Sc.
Grzegorz Orlowski 2007 Ph.D. - Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Cambridge, UK
Francis Appoch - Senior Chemist & Scientific Specialist - Maple Lodge Farms Ltd, Canada (fappoh@fstclabs.com)
Himadri Mandal 2007 Ph.D. - Postdoctorall Fellow, University of Pittsburgh (himadri@pitt.edu)
Khaled Mahmoud 2007 Ph.D. - Research Officer, BRI
Abdul Kader Khan M.Sc. 2007, Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Montreal (akkshahin@gmail.com)
Somenath Chowdhury 2007, Ph. D. - Postdoctoral Fellow, Yale University
Yingshen Lu 2004 M. Sc. - Phenomenome Discoveries Inc.
Iyengar Vineeth 9/2000 - 8/2003l
Dushmanthi Jayasinghe 2003 M. Sc. - Phenomenome Discoveries Inc. (d.jayasinghe@phenomenome.com)
Irene Bediako-Amoa 2003 M. Sc. - Technician, University of Saskatchewan
Kade Yao 2003 M. Sc. 2003 Ph.D. - Washington State University (yao2002@u.washington.edu)
Xia Wang 11/2000-10/2002
Pat Galka 2002 M. Sc. - Technical Officer NRC-PBI (Patrycja.Galka@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca)
Marek Galka 2002 M. Sc. - Postdoctoral Fellow, UWO
Pete Saweczko 2001 M. Sc.

Postdoctoral Fellows:

Piotr Diakowski 01/2008-12/2010

Patrick O. Shipman 12/2010 - Postdoctoral Fellow, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Raheleh Partovi Nia 12/2010 - The University of Western Ontario

Briza Pérez López 2009 M.Sc. - Visiting Postdoctoral Fellow from Spain (bperez@cin2.es)
Chentelle Davidson 09/2009
Xiaomin Bin 06/2009 - Research Associate at University of Toronto (xiaomin.bin@utoronto.ca)
Kagan Kerman 08/2008 - Assistant Professor at University of Toronto (kkerman@utsc.utoronto.ca)
Thara Vasanth 2007 - Research Associate, Universitat Bochum
Xiaohong Li 09/2006 - Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Beijing Normal University (lxhxiao@bnu.edu.cn)
Yitao Long 03/2006 - Professor at East China University of Science and Technology (Ytlong@berkeley.edu)
Donald Thomas 04/2005 - 04/2006 - Scientific Officer, NMR Facility, UNSW Sydney, Australia (donald.thomas@unsw.edu.au)
Erfan Abu Irhayem 09/2005 - Saudi Aramco Oil Company (arfoon@yahoo.com)
Yinglin Zhou 09/2004 - 10/2005 - Postdoctoral Fellow, Queen Mary, University of London (y.zhou@qmul.ac.uk)
Subrata K. Dey 2004 - Lecturer, Bankura Sammilani College, University of Burdwan (skdjuchem@yahoo.com)
Todd Sutherland 09/2004 - Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Calgary (sutherlt@ucalgary.ca)
Younian Liu 04/2004 - Professor of Chemistry, College of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Central South University (liuyoun@mail.csu.edu.cn)
Samuel Gyepi-Garbrah 04/2003 - 07/2003 - Reactor Safety Assessment Specialist, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (samuel.gyepi-garbgrah@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca)
Chenzhong Li 09/2001 - 12/2003 - Assistant Professor, Florida International University (licz@fiu.edu)
Yiming Xu 09/2000 - 06/2001 - PdF Protein-specific Biosensors at Queens University
M’hamed Chahma 08/2000 - 03/2002 - Associate Professor, Laurentian University (mchahma@laurentian.ca)
Sanjukta Aich 5/1998 - 10/1998 - Research Associate, Dept. of Biochemistry, University of Saskatchewan (sanjukta.aich@usask.ca)