The North American Society for the Study of Romanticism was founded in 1991 at The University of Western Ontario. NASSR was established as a forum for the discussion of a wide variety of theoretical approaches to Romantic works of all genres and disciplines and of subjects relevant to the international and interdisciplinary study of Romanticism. NASSR members from North America, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Australia work in a wide range of disciplines, including History, Art History, Women's Studies, Philosophy, Music, Political Economy, and Literature; members' interests encompass American, Canadian, English, French, German, Irish, Italian, Russian, Scottish, and Spanish Romanticisms.

NASSR 22nd Annual Conference (2014):
Romantic Organizations
Washington, DC


Executive Committee:
James Allard (Brock University) - Secretary-Treasurer
Chris Bundock (University of Western Ontario)
David Collings (Bowdoin College)
Angela Esterhammer (University of Toronto)
Tilottama Rajan (University of Western Ontario)

Ex Officio:
Frederick Burwick (University of California, Los Angeles)
Michalle Faubert (Manitoba)
Richard Sha (American University)

Advisory Board:
Mary Favret (Indiana - Bloomington) To Dec '16
Nicholas Halmi (Oxford) To Dec '16
Devoney Looser (Arizona State) To Dec '14
Peter Otto (University of Melbourne) To Dec. '15
Andrew Piper (McGill University) To Dec. '15
Alexander Regier (Rice) To Dec '16
Jonathan Sachs (Concordia University)
To Dec '14
Joan Steigerwald (York University) To Dec '14
Nancy Yousef (Baruch College, CUNY) To Dec. '15

For Past Advisory Boards click here.