Ding Research Group

Dr. Zhifeng Ding

Professor of Chemistry
Science Faculty Distinguished Research Professor
Department of Chemistry
The University of Western Ontario
London, Ontario, N6A 5B7, Canada

Office: MSA 0203
phone: (519) 661-2111 ext.86161
Lab: MSA 0250
phone: (519) 661-2111 ext.86320
fax: (519) 661-3022
email: zfding at uwo.ca

Current Students

Ph.D. Students

Fraser Filice

ffilice at uwo.ca

Michelle Li

mli232 at uwo.ca

Amy Tapley

atapley2 at uwo.ca

Matthew J. Turnbull

mturnbu6 at uwo.ca

Daniel Vaccarello

dvaccare at uwo.ca

Visiting Scholars

Dr. Xiang


Undergraduate Supervision:

Name Year Position
Jack Brezezinski 2004 NSERC USRA student
Kevin Daub 2005 NSERC USRAstudent
Christina Booker 2006 NSERC USRA student
Lindsay Kelland 2007 Exchange student(Acadia U)
Joseph Chan 2008 NSERC USRA student
Sean McLure 2004-05 Honour thesis student (2nd prize on the 33rd South Ontario Undergraduate Student Chemistry Conference (SOUSCC))
Kiyoon Moon 2004-05 Honour thesis student
Catherine Nowierski 2005-06 Honour thesis student
Nahla Mohamed 2005-06 Honour thesis student
Christina Booker 2006-07 Honour thesis student NSERC graduate scholarship
Michael Tiedemann 2006-07 Honour thesis student (joint with MSW)OGS graduate scholarship
Samar Haroun 2007 Honour thesis student
Susan Howett 2007-08 Honour thesis student
Barbara Jarosz 2007-08 Honour thesis student
Jayne Cation 2007-08 Honour thesis student (joint with MSW)
Chris Na 2007-08 Honour thesis student (joint with BLP
Shaun Long 2007-08 Honour thesis student (joint with RHL)
Brian Foster 2008-09 Honour thesis student
Michelle Li 2009 Honour thesis student
Andra Wasilewski 2009-10 Honour thesis student (joint with REH)
Carly Hewson 2009-10 Honour thesis student
Kyle Pellarin 2009-10 Honour thesis student
Adrian Clay Linklater 2010-11 Honour thesis student
Myong In Oh 2011 NSERC USRA student
Anne-Marie Montgomery 2011-12 Honour thesis student (2nd prize on the 40th SOUSCC)
Amy Tapley 2011-12 Honour thesis student
Steve Kutarna 2012 NSERC USRA student
Catherine Yang 2012 Summer research student
Jason Hedges 2012 Summer research student
Amy Tapley 2012 Summer research student
Myong In Oh 2012-13 Honour thesis student
Connor Hart 2012-13 Honour thesis student (2nd prize at the 41st SOUSCC)
Fraser Filice 2013-14 Honour thesis student
Arielle Jean 2013-14 Honour thesis student
Joesph Turnbull 2013-14 Honour thesis student (1st prize at the 42nd SOUSCC)
Zaccary Alperstein 2014 NSERC USRA
Spencer Martin 2014 Summer Research Student
Ryan White 2014 Summer Research Student
Vy Phung 2014-15 Honour thesis student
Lydia Sa 2014-15 Honour thesis student
Lin Kong 2014-15 Honour thesis student
Seowoo Kim 2014-15 Honour thesis student (2nd place at SOUSCC)
Jeffery Henderson 2014-15 Honour thesis student (3rd place at SOUSCC) and NSERC USRA Student
Kenneth Chu 2015-16 Honour thesis student
Sanghyuk "Claire" Rim 2015-16 Honour thesis student
Horace Wu 2015-16 Honour thesis student
Jeen Yang 2015-16 Honour thesis student
Jonathan Wong 2016 NSERC USRA Student

Graduate Supervision:

Research Assistant

Name Period of Supervision Research
Daniel Stitt 2013-2014 Characterization and Optimization of CuInS2 solar cells

Master’s theses:

Name Period of Supervision Thesis title
Matthew Turnbull 2006-2008 Electrochemistry and Microscopy (joint student with DWS)
Catherine Nowierski 2007-2009 Scanning Electrochemical Microscopy of Ti and Zr Alloys (joint student with DWS)
Kévin Giffard 2009 Electrodeposition for solar cells (visiting student from France)
Jia Jia 2009-2011 Scanning electrochemical microscopy of CIGS films
Jin Zhang 2010-2011 Electrochemistry of water/ionic liquid interfaces
Romain Noiville 2010 Electrodeposition for solar cells (visiting student from France)
Yu Sun 2010-2012 Scanning electrochemical microscopy of Ni and live cells
Kyle Jeffs 2012-2014 Optimization of p-Type CZTS Nanocrystal Thin Film Layers For Applications in Low Cost Photovoltaic Devices
Saghar "Sara" Khosmoshrab 2013-2015 Optimization of Cu2ZnSnS4 Nanocrystal Composition and Thin Film Fabrication for Photovoltaic Applications

Doctoral theses:

Name Period of Supervision Thesis title
Renkang Zhu 2003-2007 Development and Applications of Scanning Electrochemical Microscopy
Jigang Zhou 2004-2007 Electrochemistry, Spectroscopy and Electrogenerated Chemiluminescence of Nanostructures (joint student with TKS from Sept. 2006)
Xiaocui Zhao 2005-2010 Scanning Electrochemical Microscopy of Live Cells
Yanhua Chen 2007-2009 Electrochemiluminescence of nanocrystals (Visiting PhD student from China)
Mengni Zhang 2008-2010 Scanning Electrochemical Microscopy of Live Cancer Cells (Joint PhD student from China)
Susan Howett 2008-2010 Electrochemistry and gamma irradiation (joint student with JCW)
TJ Stockmann 2008-2013 Electrochemical Evaluation of Ionic Liquids for Biphasic Extraction of Metal Ions Common to Spent Nuclear Fuel
Kalen Swanick 2009-2013 Electrochemiluminescence of Thienyltriazoles, Iridium Complexes, Au25 Clusters and PbS Nanoparticles
Mahdi Hesari 2010-2014 Electrogenerated Chemiluminescence of Gold Nanoclusters

Post-doctoral fellows, Visiting Scholars:

Name Period of Supervision Position
Shah Nawaz Lanjwani 2004-2008 Postdoctoral Fellow
Jun Zhu 2003-2004 Visiting Scholar
Weihong Huang 2004-2005 Visiting Scholar
Ali Benvidi 2004-2005 Visiting PhD Student
Fengping Wang 2005 Visiting Scholar
Fengping Wang 2006-2007 CCP fellow/postdoc
Piotr M. Diakowski 2006-2008 Postdoctoral Fellow
Xingzhi Sun 2006 Postdoctoral Fellow
Mohammad Harati 2009- 2010 Postdoctoral Fellow
Falong Jia 2010- 2011 Postdoctoral Fellow
Feng Kang 2012-2013 Postdoctoral Fellow
Min Zhou 2012-2013 Postdoctoral Fellow
Dr. Xuejin Wang 2013-2014 Visiting Scholar
Dr. Lorenzo Perini 2014-15 Postdoctoral Fellow
Dr. Mahdi Hesari 2015-16 Postdoctoral Fellow