Welcome to the Staroverov Group Website

We develop theoretical methods and computer programs for studying the electronic structure, physical properties, and chemical reactions of molecules and solids. The focus of our activities is on the Kohn–Sham density-functional method, particularly on designing new density-functional approximations in terms of Kohn–Sham effective potentials. We also use electronic structure methods to solve practical problems of chemistry, spectroscopy, and materials science.

Postdoctoral Position

One postdoc position is available. The research area is broadly defined as development of electronic structure methods. Requirements: PhD in theoretical chemistry or related discipline; programming experience with at least one quantum chemistry package. Qualified candidates are encouraged to contact me by e-mail for further details.

Accepting Graduate Students

MSc and PhD student positions are available. All students admitted to our graduate program receive full financial support. In addition, external scholarships of up to $50,000 per year (Vanier, Trillium, OGS, and others) are available to strong applicants, both from Canada and abroad. If you have a strong academic record and wish to join my group, I will be happy to nominate you and support your application for these scholarships. I encourage you to contact me for further details.

For examples of graduate research projects, see our publications.

Contact Info
Prof. Viktor N. Staroverov
Department of Chemistry
The University of Western Ontario
London, ON N6A 5B7, Canada
E-mail: vstarove@uwo.ca