Dr. Joe B. Gilroy

Joe B. Gilroy

Joe was born in Nanaimo, BC and grew up in Port Alberni, BC on Vancouver Island where he attended Alberni District Secondary School (ADSS).  After growing tired of small town life, he moved South, first to Malaspina University College (now Vancouver Island University) and then to the University of Victoria where he completed his B.Sc. in 2003.  He began his Ph.D. under the tutelage of Prof. Robin Hicks in 2003, working on a variety of projects involving stable radicals and their metal complexes, ligand design, and molecule-based magnetism.  After graduating in 2008, Joe was on the move again, joining the group of Prof. Ian Manners at the University of Bristol (UK).  His work in the Manners group spanned a number of areas including the synthesis and self-assembly of metal-containing polymers, mechanistic organometallic chemistry, and the chemistry of pi-conjugated, conducting polymers.  For more details, please see the publications page.
Joe B. Gilroy
Department of Chemistry
The University of Western Ontario
London, Ontario
Canada, N6A 5B7

Office: MSA 3201
Lab: MSA 3240
1 (519) 661-2111 (x81561)


B.Sc. - Victoria, 1999-2003
Ph.D. - VIctoria (w/ Robin Hicks), 2003-2008
Postdoc - Bristol (w/ Ian Manners), 2008-2012

Awards and Recognitions

2022 - UWO Edward G. Pleva Award for Excellence in Teaching (teaching)

2022 - UWO Chemistry Research Award of Excellence (research)

2021 - UWO Faculty of Science Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring (teaching)

2021 - UWO Florence Bucke Science Prize (research)

2021 - Invited Article, New Talents in Polymer Science special issue, Macromolecular Rapid Communications (research)

2020 - CSC Strem Chemicals Award for Pure or Applied Inorganic Chemistry (research)

2020 - Named to Editorial Board of Aggregate (research)

2020 - WOLRDiscoveries Vanguard Patent Issues Award (research)

2020 - Invited Article, New Talent: Americas Issue 2020, Dalton Transactions (research)

2019 - UWO Science Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching (teaching)

2018- UWO Science Distinguished Research Professor (research)

2018 - UWO Faculty Scholar Award (research & teaching)

2018 - Invited Article, 2018 Emerging Investigators Issue, Chemical Communications (research)

2017 - CNC-IUPAC Travel Award (research)

2017- Fellow, University of Toronto Science Leadership Program (competitive, research)

2016 - Invited Presentation, Emerging Materials Chemistry Investigators Symposium, 99th CSC Conference (research)

2016 - Invited Article, 2016 Emerging Investigators Themed Issue: Novel Design Strategies for New Functional Materials, Journal of Materials Chemistry C (research)

2015 - SYNFORM feature article (research)

2015- Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation Early Researcher Award (research)

2014 - Western's Petro-Canada Young Innovator Award (research)

2014 - Thieme Chemistry Journal Award (research)

2010 - EU Marie Curie International Incoming Fellowship (research)

2008 - Canada-United Kingdom Millennium Research Award (research)

2008 - NSERC of Canada Postdoctoral Fellowship (research) 

2007 - Andy Farquharson Teaching Award (graduate teaching)

2007 - Julius Schleicher Graduate Scholarship (research)

2006 - Lewis J. Clark Memorial Fellowship (research)

2005 - Sally McAuley Award (inorganic chemistry)

2003 - Karel Hartman Award (analytical chemistry)

2002 - Karel Hartman Award (analytical chemistry)